Skip to content ↓


Welcome to the Governors’ webpage for St Augustine’s Catholic High School; we hope it provides a clear insight into what our roles and responsibilities are and who we all are.

What is the responsibility of the Governors?

The Governors have responsibility for ensuring the good conduct and high standards of educational achievement in the school. They act in the best interests of the students and also act as a critical friend to the Principal.

The three main roles are:-

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

The different types of Governors:

Foundation: are appointed by the Diocese and form the majority of the Governors of the school. They have a legal duty to preserve and develop the Catholic character of the school and to ensure the school is conducted in accordance with the Scheme of Delegation.

Staff: representatives of the staff community within the school. Also includes the Principal of the school.

Parent: nominated by parents of the students who attend the school.

Co-opted: appointed by the Governing Body who has the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

We have 4 committees at the school and the Governors share responsibility for sitting on these and voting on them. The Principal sits on every committee and has a voting right on each.

Cecilia Hubble and Bernadette Stokes are Co-Chairs of the Governors, 2020 - 2021.

Finance & Estates Committee

  • Chair: Roger Harrison
  • Vice Chair: Peter Hartley

Personnel Committee

  • Chair: Bernadette Mackie
  • Vice Chair: Roger Harrison

Pupil Welfare

  • Chair: Bernadette Stokes
  • Vice Chair: Peter Hartley

Curriculum & Standards

  • Chair: Mike Connolly
  • Vice Chair: Bernadette Stokes